MT-Archive | News Archive | MTNI


Bente's Leaving

Prof. Bente Maegaard, currently Director of the Centre for Language Technology at the University of Copenhagen, Denmark, stepped down as President of the EAMT at the General Assembly Meeting which took place at EAMT-09 in Barcelona last week. Bente has been a Member of the Executive Committee of EAMT from 1995, and its President from 2004-2009.

At the same meeting, Viggo Hansen stepped down as Secretary of the EAMT, a position he has held since 1995. Viggo will remain as a co-opted member of the EAMT Committee for the next 12 months as the local organizer of EAMT-2010, to take place in St. Raphaël, France, on 27-28 May.

The new President of EAMT is Prof. Andy Way, of the School of Computing at Dublin City University, Ireland. The new Secretary of EAMT is Prof. Mikel Forcada, of the Departament de Llenguatges i Sistemes Informàtics at the Universitat d'Alacant, Spain. Both Andy and Mikel have served as regular members of the EAMT Committee in the recent past.

We are extremely grateful to both Bente and Viggo for their many years of sterling service to our Association, as well as to the IAMT, and to the MT Community as a whole. At EAMT-09 in Barcelona last week, both were presented with tokens of our appreciation, and received a sustained round of applause from the conference attendees, but it is entirely fitting to thank them for their hard work on behalf of all of us in a more public forum still.