MT-Archive | News Archive | MTNI


EAMT Best Thesis Award 2012

The European Association for Machine Translation (EAMT, is an organization that serves the growing community of people interested in MT and translation tools, including users, developers, and researchers of this increasingly viable technology.

The EAMT invites entries for its fourth EAMT Best Thesis Award for a PhD or equivalent thesis on a topic related to machine translation.


Current members of the EAMT who

  • have paid their 2012 dues before June 30, 23:59 CET,
  • have submitted a PhD (or equivalent) thesis on a relevant topic in an European, Northern African[1] or Middle Eastern[2] institution within calendar year 2012,
  • have successfully obtained the PhD or equivalent degree, and
  • have not previously won a similar award,
are invited to submit their theses to the EAMT for consideration. Additionally, they will only be entitled to receive the award if they have renewed their EAMT membership before March 31, 2013.


The submissions will be judged by a panel of experts who are EAMT members and are appointed by the Executive Committee of the EAMT.

Selection Criteria

Each thesis will be judged according to how challenging the problem was, to how relevant the results are for machine translation as a field, and to the strength of their impact in terms of scientific publications.


The scope of the thesis need not be confined to a technical area, and applications are also invited from students who carried out their research into commercial and management aspects of machine translation.

Possible areas of research might include:

  • development of machine translation or advanced computer-assisted translation systems: software and resources
  • machine translation for less-resourced languages
  • the use of these systems in professional environments (freelance translators, translation agencies, localisation, etc.)
  • the increasing impact of machine translation on non-professional Internet users and its impact in communications, social networking, etc.
  • machine translation and post-editing
  • spoken language translation
  • the integration of machine translation and translation memory systems
  • the integration of machine translation software in larger IT applications
  • the evaluation of machine translation systems in real tasks such as those above
  • the cross-fertilisation between machine translation and other language technologies


The winner will be announced by the end of March, 2013, and will receive a prize of €500, together with a suitably-inscribed certificate. In addition, the recipient of the award will be required to briefly present their research at the Machine Translation Summit XIV conference to be held in Nice, France, 2–6 september 2013. In order to facilitate this, the EAMT will waive the winner's registration costs, and will make available a travel bursary of €200 to enable the recipient of the award to attend the said conference.


Should you wish to enter your thesis, please use the following link: to submit a single PDF file containing, in this order:

  • a 2-page summary of your thesis in English, containing:
    • your full contact details,
    • the name and contact details of your supervisor(s),
  • a copy of your CV in English (at most one page, plus a complete list of publications directly related to the thesis)
  • an electronic copy of your thesis
  • optionally, an appendix with any other relevant information on the thesis

By submitting their work, authors

  • agree that, in case they are granted the award, any subsequently published version of the thesis should carry the citation "Winner of the Best Thesis Award 2012 of the European Association for Machine Translation" and
  • acknowledge the right of the EAMT to publicize the granting of the award.

Closing Date

The closing date for submissions is December 31, 2012, 23:59 Central European Time. No extensions will be granted.

[1] Algeria, Egypt, Libya, Morocco and Tunisia.
[2] Bahrain, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Jordan, Kuwait, Oman, Palestine, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Syria, United Arab Emirates, Yemen.