MT-Archive | News Archive | MTNI


Machine Translation Summit XIII - Second Call for Papers -

Xiamen, China
19th – 23rd September 2011

The thirteenth Machine Translation Summit, organized by the International Association for Machine Translation (IAMT) and hosted by the Asia-Pacific Association for Machine Translation (AAMT), will be held in Xiamen, China, from 19 to 23 September 2011.

Important Dates

  • June 20th, 2011 Paper submissions due
  • August 1st, 2011 Notification to authors
  • August 19th, 2011 Final camera-ready version due

MT Summit XIII will feature a comprehensive program that will include research papers, reports on users' experiences, discussions of policy issues, invited talks, panels, exhibits, tutorials, and workshops. We define machine translation in the broadest possible sense, to include not just fully automatic MT but tools for translation support and multilingual text processing as well.

We invite all those with an interest in translation automation- researchers, developers, translation service providers, users, or managers-to participate in the conference.

MT Summit XIII hereby invites original submissions on all aspects machine and machine-aided translation. The submissions must be in English and fall into one of three categories:

  • Category A: research (or theoretical) papers : maximum length 8 pages;
  • Category B: user's studies (including manager's experiences) : maximum length 8 pages;
  • Category C: system presentations (with optional demos) : maximum length 4 pages.

Topics of interest include, but are not limited to:

  • MT technology
  • Translation environments (workflow, support tools, conversion tools for lexica, etc.)
  • Translation aids (translation memory, terminology databases, etc.)
  • Human factors in MT and user interfaces for MT
  • MT combined with other technologies (speech translation, cross-language information retrieval, multilingual text categorization, multilingual text summarization, multilingual natural language generation, etc.)
  • Dictionaries and lexica for MT
  • Text and speech corpora for MT, and knowledge extraction for MT
  • Standards in text and lexicon encoding for MT
  • MT evaluation techniques and evaluation results.
  • User's studies (including manager's experiences)

It is acceptable to submit your paper to another conference, provided you declare this double submission at the time you make your submission to Machine Translation Summit. If the paper is accepted by the other conference and you decide to withdraw it from MT Summit, you must notify us of your intention to withdraw as soon as you receive the acceptance from the other conference. Also note that for each paper accepted by MT Summit, at the camera-ready stage, papers will be accepted for inclusion in the MT Summit conference proceedings only if at least one author of each paper has registered for the conference.

There will be two types of papers:

(R) Regular papers (Category A and B only): Submissions are invited for reports of significant research results or user’s studies in any aspect of machine translation and related areas. Such reports should include a substantial evaluation component.
(P) Poster presentations (with or without demonstration) (Category A, B and C): Submissions are invited for presentations that are best suited for poster sessions, which are more interactive. Submissions are also invited for reports on the design, implementation, operation and evaluation of operational and prototype systems.

Both types of paper should include a category (A, B or C), a type of paper (Regular paper or Poster presentations), a 100 word abstract, and up to 5 keywords. MT Summit XIII uses electronic submission through the Easy chair conference tool.

Formatting Guidelines

Papers must be submitted in pdf, through the Easy chair Conference papers submission system. Those who do not have an Easy chair account will need to create one. Use following link to submit your papers.

Electronic Submission:

The details of formatting instructions and style files for Latex users and MS-Word users can be found in the following link.

Research Program Committee:
Igor Boguslavsky, Russian Academy of Sciences, Russia
Boxing Chen, NRC, Canada
David Chiang, University of Southern California, USA
KeySun Choi, KAIST, Korea
Alain Desilets, Institute for Information Technology of the National Research Council of Canada, Canada
Mike Dillinger, Content Management Consulting, USA
Kevin Duh, Nippon Telegraph and Telephone Corporation, Japan
Andrew Finch, NICT, Japan
Mikel L. Forcada, University of Alicante, Spain
Michel Galley, Microsoft Research, USA
Laurie Gerber, Independent Language Technology Consultant, USA
Nizar Habash, Columbia University, USA
Hitoshi Iida, Tokyo University of Technology, Japan
Abraham Ittycheriah, IBM Research, USA
Kyo Kageura, University of Tokyo, Japan
Richard Kittredge, CoGenTex, Inc., USA
Kevin Knight, University of Southern California, Information Sciences Institute, USA
Philipp Koehn, University of Edinburgh, UK
Shankar Kumar, Google, USA
Sadao Kurohashi, Kyoto University, Japan
Mu Li, Microsoft Research Asia, China
Qun Liu, Institute of Computing Technology, Chinese Academy of Sciences, China
Yang Liu, Institute of Computing Technology, Chinese Academy of Sciences, China
Yajuan Lü, Institute of Computing Technology, Chinese Academy of Sciences, China
Yanjun Ma, Baidu, China
Wolfgang Macherey, Google, USA
Daniel Marcu, University of Southern California, Information Sciences Institute, USA
Nagata Masaaki, Nippon Telegraph and Telephone Corporation, Japan
Franz Josef Och , Google, USA
Kemal Oflazer, Carnegie Mellon University – Qatar, Qatar
Salim Roukos, IBM Research, USA
Rajeev Sangal, International Institute of Information Technology, India
Xiaodong Shi, Xiamen University, China
Keh-Yih Su, Behavior Design Corporation, Taiwan
Le Sun, Institute of Software, Chinese Academy of Sciences, China
Hajime Tsukada, Nippon Telegraph and Telephone Corporation, Japan
Akira Ushioda, Fujitsu Labratories, Japan
Masao Utiyama, NICT, Japan
Takehito Utsuro, University of Tsukuba, Japan
Stephan Vogel, Carnegie Mellon University, USA
Haifeng Wang, Baidu, China
Taro Watanabe, NICT, Japan
Andy Way, Dublin City University, Ireland
Chris Wendt, Microsoft Research, USA
Hua Wu, Baidu, China
Dekai Wu, Hong Kong University of Science and Technology, China
Fei Xia, Washinton University, USA
Deyi Xiong, I2R, Singapore
Hiroshi Yamamoto, Kinki University, Japan
Shoichi Yokoyama, Yamagata University, Japan
Min Zhang, I2R, Singapore
Yujie Zhang, Beijing Jiaotong University, China
Tiejun Zhao, Harbin Institute of Technology, China
Chengqing Zong, Institute of Automata, Chinese Academy of Sciences, China

The program committee will be chaired by Hiromi Nakaiwa ( from Nippon Telegraph and Telephone Corporation, Japan. All submissions will be reviewed by at least three experts.