MT-Archive | News Archive | MTNI


New EAMT Committee

At the General Assembly Meeting which took place at EAMT-09 in Barcelona last week, the following people were confirmed in position as the new Committee of EAMT:

Andy Way - President
Mikel Forcada - Secretary
Tony Clarke - Treasurer
Svetlana Sokolova - permanent member
Hany Hassan - permanent member
Khalid Choukri - co-opted
Marcello Federico - co-opted
John Hutchins - co-opted
Viggo Hansen - co-opted

This Committee has very good representation from all areas pertaining to Machine Translation, including researchers embracing the three major paradigms in MT, including Speech; users; developers; representation from tools/data; a good industrial/academic mix; and good overlap with other important committees.

The Committee is very well-placed going forward to cement EAMT's position in the MT community at large, and extend both the membership and scope of the Association's activities.