Best thesis award

The EAMT annually invites entries for the Anthony C Clarke award: EAMT Best Thesis Award, for a PhD or equivalent thesis on a topic related to machine translation.

Eligible researchers should:

  • have completed a PhD (or equivalent) thesis on a relevant topic in a European, Northern African or Middle Eastern institution within the calendar year specified by the call,
  • have not previously won another international award for that thesis, and,
  • be a member of the EAMT at the time of submission.

The call for researchers that completed a PhD thesis in 2023 is open.

Previous EAMT Best Thesis awardees

  • 2023: Biao Zhang: “Towards Efficient Universal Neural Machine Translation” (University of Edinburgh, UK), supervised by Dr Rico Sennrich and Dr Ivan Titov
  • 2022: Danielle Saunders: “Domain Adaptation for Neural Machine Translation” (University of Cambridge, UK), supervised by Bill Byrne
  • 2021:
    • Maha Elbayad: “Rethinking the Design of Sequence-to-Sequence Models for Efficient Machine Translation” (University Grenoble Alpes, France), supervised by Laurent Besacier and Jakob Verbeek
    • Mattia Antonino Di Gangi: “Neural Speech Translation: From Neural Machine Translation to Direct Speech Translation” (University of Trento, Italy), supervised by Marcello Federico, Marco Turchi and Matteo Negri
  • 2020: Felix Stahlberg: “The Roles of Language Models and Hierarchical Models in Neural Sequence-to-Sequence Prediction” (University of Cambridge), supervised by Bill Byrne and with Phil Woodland as advisor.
  • 2019: Longyue Wang: “Discourse-Aware Neural Machine Translation” (Dublin City University – now at Tencent AI Lab), supervised by Andy Way (Dublin City University) and Qun Liu (Dublin City University – now at Huawei Noah’s Ark Lab).
  • 2018: Daniel Emilio Beck: “Gaussian Processes for Text Regression” (University of Sheffield), supervised by Lucia Specia (University of Sheffield, UK) and Trevor Cohn (University of Melboune, Australia).
  • 2017: José Guilherme Camargo de Souza: “Adaptive Quality Estimation for Machine Translation and Automatic Speech Recognition” (University of Trento and FBK, Italy), supervised by Matteo Negri, Marco Turchi and Marcello Federico.
  • 2016: Fabienne Braune: “Decoding Strategies for Syntax-based Statistical Machine Translation” (LMU Munich, Germany), supervised by Andreas Maletti and Alexander Fraser.
  • 2015: Christian Hardmeier: “Discourse in Statistical Machine Translation” (Uppsala University, Sweden), supervised by Joakim Nivre and Jörg Tiedemann.
  • 2014: Gennadi Lembersky: “The Effect of Translationese on Statistical Machine Translation” (University of Haifa, Israel), supervised by Shuly Wintner.
  • 2013: unassigned
  • 2012: Abby Levenberg:”Stream-based Statistical Machine Translation” (University of Edinburgh, UK), supervised by Miles Osborne.